Page 1 of 2

nothing seems to work for a new guy

Posted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 10:26 pm
by patrickevans
the engine i have atm is 5.5 the tutorials are in 5.0 i have down loaded the asset cryengine game sdk sample project but nothing shows up on the hard drivew that i can find to import
hey i am new but none of the instructions so far seem to work or are for out dated engines is there any one i can talk to online that is willing to help a little

Re: nothing seems to work for a new guy

Posted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 10:58 pm
by FerdinandDeMedicis
The best way to do it imo is to download the project, then in the launcher go to my assets, click on the little arrow below the sdk project and click on reveal in explorer. Take both files inside that folder, and paste them inside an empty folder (that you can call for exemple "my project"). Then in the launcher, choose to import a project and point the launcher to the folder in which you've pasted the SDK. It should appear in the projects list now, just launch it and you'll be set.

Re: nothing seems to work for a new guy

Posted: Sat Apr 07, 2018 11:56 am
by kirkfriend
Hey,

I am new to CryEngine too and have been following the Flappy Boid tutorial without any issues. This one appears to be new and for the latest version of CryEngine, it does a good job of introducing the workflow and different tools provided.

Kirk

Re: nothing seems to work for a new guy

Posted: Mon Apr 16, 2018 11:54 pm
by MonsterRigs
Heya's!

I am new also and am having a difficult time world building. I have taken the SDK pak and many of the other free assets and added those paks to my new project but for some reason, the textures seem to work good but when i try to add the material it still says replace me on the tiles. I am guessing that my materials should not be in the regular assets folder but the cryengine assets folder? I need some help with this please.

Re: nothing seems to work for a new guy

Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 1:01 am
by quasarwei
Did you extract the content in the pak folders? The materials and all your assets should be in your project folder.

Re: nothing seems to work for a new guy

Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 2:10 am
by MonsterRigs
Yes, i extracted them in to the assets folder with 7zip. I just cant get any of the materials to work for me except the default terrain material, the rest of them still have the replace me icon.

Re: nothing seems to work for a new guy

Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 5:14 am
by quasarwei
Are the materials set up properly? Are the proper textures linked correctly? Can I see a screenshot of the setup?

Re: nothing seems to work for a new guy

Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 5:19 pm
by MonsterRigs
Ok here are 3 pics first is of the reveal explorer, and the other 2 are from the engine when i am trying to select terrain material and textures. There is only 1 material i have access to from like 5 paks? Every one of the other ones leave a Replace Me icon on the terrain.

Re: nothing seems to work for a new guy

Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2018 1:31 am
by quasarwei
If your material is showing a 'replace me,' texture, that means no texture is assigned to the diffuse slot of the material. You need to open up the material editor, open your material settings for the material you want to edit, and manually assign the 'forest_ground' texture to the diffuse slot of your terrain material.

Re: nothing seems to work for a new guy

Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2018 1:41 pm
by MonsterRigs
Ok, so is there a version i can download that this is already done?