Making an open world multiplayer game?

I'm new to game dev in it's whole and I'm probably going in way over my head for even asking about this, but, how would I go about making a massively multiplayer game in CryEngine? Not a game like FPS games with rounds and small servers for short time happenings, I mean games like Star Citizen, Eve Online, or Elite Dangerous. In case you couldn't tell by my more obvious than not, I am trying to make a space game. I'm not expecting this to be any good, I just plan on doing it to refine my abilities for a few years of learning before trying anything. The main issue with game dev is, I have no clue where to begin. Most engines like lumberyard or unreal seem more like level editors rather than game engines, and either way, I have no idea how to make an online game that doesn't have a start or finish like the games previously referred to. Whether I go through with actually making a game I release or not, it would be only prudent I learn how to do this sooner or later, and frankly, I can't find out anywhere else how this is done, so I just decided to come to a game engine forum site.
It probably sounds like I am looking to find out how to design each feature like outfitting ships, character customization, ect. Just to clarify, I am only asking how a game is tailored around this open-world multiplayer design.

Thank you for any time you spend looking at this post, and any replies you may want to input. Every little comment helps.

Re: Making an open world multiplayer game?