Textures and Materials

Hello everybody. I am extremely new to this and I have been having some issues. I watched tutorials and they showed creating land and covering it with a texture and adjusting the color, but it doesn't seem to work that way when i try. I download my texture packs, copy them into the asset folder and try to create a new project and use them, but they are not there. Then, I finally was able to get one of them to show up (only in project sdk) it showed different textures, but it was all that ... basic gray look, and I couldn't figure out how to put color on it. I know this is probably a super easy solution but I was tired of searching for videos on how to do it. Please help me figure this out.

Re: Textures and Materials

I am not one to understand things easily, so I apologize if I misunderstood your problem.
It seems that you may have misinterpreted the definitions of materials vs textures as being the same (in my understanding, they are not). As a beginner who has done more work on the programming end, I'm not entirely familiar yet either.
In any case GameSDK (which you downloaded and used as your main project I assume), should have the necessary textures and materials in it. While you have been watching tutorials all day to no avail, I can only ironically offer another tutorial that, if followed precisely, should guide you directly:
How to create a level, terrain and terrain texture | Getting Started:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jFBCxBSzMzQ
And also, the Documentation page for it:
If this tutorial doesn't work, try going through your steps to us in more detail so that we can troubleshoot what's going on.