Scrounger - a Short Film & Behind the Scenes

Hi,

My name is Henrik Larsen, and I'm a freelance 3D Environment Artist. I'm re-posting this on here, as it was on the older forum, and adding some behind the scenes shots, since I've had a good bit of curiosity about it. Hopefully it'll be of interest to you guys.
So, Scrounger was a short film I decided to do as an experiment in CryEngine - to see what I can do, and so forth, and to get a job in the industry - of which I still am waiting to do.

I had a vague idea about what the concept was to be, and what time period (setting) I was going for, and it was sci-fi with a twist; not bleak and dark, but bright and colorful. Personally, I am tired of the de-saturated look to everything and wanted this to be different.

To start, I made a lot of sketches of basic shapes and ideas - characters, of which I didn't want too many, since close to 4 mins aren't a lot, and therefore couldn't really squeeze in too much. It was to be more centered on environment art and some sort of flow to the story.
The trick for me was to get to a 'movie-like' look, and for that, I turned to movies, to see camera movements, lighting, and to see what in effect made anything look like a movie. Of course there was a lot of things to make - everything, in fact, models, textures, materials, lighting, camera movement, story, concept, design, rigging, animation and music.