Page 1 of 1

Stuck loading level - I guess constructing voxels is the problem

Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2018 2:44 pm
by chelling
Hi there,

I just played with a portfolio scene and may have overdone it with the total illumination settings (?).
When trying to load the level, it is stuck and seems to load forever (CPU usage is still active nonetheless).

The log seems normal, at first..
The problem seems to be coming from here (copied from log):

<15:36:19> Constructing voxel tree ...
<15:36:19> Voxel texture format: R8G8B8A8
<15:36:21> UpdateBrickRenderData postponed 5841
<15:36:21> UpdateBrickRenderData postponed 5841
<15:36:22> UpdateBrickRenderData postponed 5841
<15:36:22> UpdateBrickRenderData postponed 5841
<15:36:22> UpdateBrickRenderData postponed 5841
<15:36:22> UpdateBrickRenderData postponed 5841
<15:36:22> UpdateBrickRenderData postponed 5841
<15:36:22> UpdateBrickRenderData postponed 5841
<15:36:22> UpdateBrickRenderData postponed 5841
<15:36:22> UpdateBrickRenderData postponed 5841
<15:36:22> UpdateBrickRenderData postponed 5841
<15:36:22> UpdateBrickRenderData postponed 5841
<15:36:22> UpdateBrickRenderData postponed 5841
<15:36:22> UpdateBrickRenderData postponed 5841
<15:36:22> UpdateBrickRenderData postponed 5841
.
.
.

UpdateBrickRenderData postponed just keeps coming infinitely as it seems.
Anyone knows how I could solve this so I can actually load the level again to go over the Total Illumination settings..

Thanks!

Edit:
I think I could resolve it by myself. I opened the Environment.xml file and set Total_Illumination_v2 Active to 0..
That way I could at least load the level to fix the settings etc.
Guess I need to reconsider my settings in the future.

Re: Stuck loading level - I guess constructing voxels is the problem

Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2018 10:32 am
by Cry-Flare
Hey there,

The UpdateBrickRenderData spam seems to be an issue of the Voxelization cache not being large enough for the amount of objects to be processed. You can modify this in two ways by either lowering the LOD of the Voxelization or by increasing the cache size (Either may need an editor restart, so you may need to put these into the cryproject file as Console Variables).

The two CVars are:

Code: Select all

VoxelizationLODRatio
VoxelPoolResolution
The Pool ~Resolution can be set to 256 for example (from 128).

Re: Stuck loading level - I guess constructing voxels is the problem

Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2018 12:04 pm
by lavizh
Why not just disable SVOGI and then load up the Editor? Then set default values? Think its e_svoti or something.

Re: Stuck loading level - I guess constructing voxels is the problem

Posted: Tue May 21, 2019 2:13 pm
by vlad4d
Another way to fix it is to set cvar e_svoTI_Active -1 before level load in Sandbox. This will prevent GI system from start.
Then after level loaded simply reduce VoxelizationLODRatio UI parameter and save.
Next time level should load without problems.