Page 1 of 2

Leaf Opacity

Posted: Fri Jul 20, 2018 7:44 pm
by Spidey Unit
I finally figured out how to use multiple materials for a tree. Now I cant get the opacity for the leaf to work. Anyone know how to?

Re: Leaf Opacity

Posted: Fri Jul 20, 2018 9:18 pm
by cinnabear
Put the Alpha of the leaf in the alpha channel of the diffuse map and set the alpha test to 50.

Re: Leaf Opacity

Posted: Fri Jul 20, 2018 10:25 pm
by Spidey Unit
Put the Alpha of the leaf in the alpha channel of the diffuse map and set the alpha test to 50.
I appreciate your help a lot. Thank you!

I’m new to all of this. Do I have to make a Alpha of my leaf in photo shop? Or is it my Leaf Albedo?

Re: Leaf Opacity

Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 12:27 am
by quasarwei

I appreciate your help a lot. Thank you!

I’m new to all of this. Do I have to make a Alpha of my leaf in photo shop? Or is it my Leaf Albedo?
Did you use speedtree to make this? I'm not familiar with the program but there should definitely be a way to export an opacity map. Place the opacity map in the alpha of the diffuse texture and name it with the suffix _diff.

Re: Leaf Opacity

Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 1:49 am
by Spidey Unit

I appreciate your help a lot. Thank you!

I’m new to all of this. Do I have to make a Alpha of my leaf in photo shop? Or is it my Leaf Albedo?
Did you use speedtree to make this? I'm not familiar with the program but there should definitely be a way to export an opacity map. Place the opacity map in the alpha of the diffuse texture and name it with the suffix _diff.
I’m using megascans textures and it comes with a opacity map. Should I change the opacity map to a diff?

Re: Leaf Opacity

Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 2:15 am
by cinnabear
Open up your leaf albedo in Photoshop.
Go under "Channels" and click the right top corner of that window to create a "New Channel". This should be an alpha channel.
Open up your opacity map in Photoshop and copy past it into the alpha channel of your leaf albedo.
Save your map via Crytiff with an preset that supports albedos with alpha channel.
in CE set the alpha test of your leaf material to 50.

Re: Leaf Opacity

Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 2:56 am
by Spidey Unit
Open up your leaf albedo in Photoshop.
Go under "Channels" and click the right top corner of that window to create a "New Channel". This should be an alpha channel.
Open up your opacity map in Photoshop and copy past it into the alpha channel of your leaf albedo.
Save your map via Crytiff with an preset that supports albedos with alpha channel.
in CE set the alpha test of your leaf material to 50.
Cinnabear.. if I had a life saver to give you, i would. Cause thats what you are!! Thank you very much it worked!! Thanks a lot for helping out!!

Re: Leaf Opacity

Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 3:21 am
by Spidey Unit

I appreciate your help a lot. Thank you!

I’m new to all of this. Do I have to make a Alpha of my leaf in photo shop? Or is it my Leaf Albedo?
Did you use speedtree to make this? I'm not familiar with the program but there should definitely be a way to export an opacity map. Place the opacity map in the alpha of the diffuse texture and name it with the suffix _diff.
Thank you

Re: Leaf Opacity

Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 3:25 am
by Spidey Unit
Open up your leaf albedo in Photoshop.
Go under "Channels" and click the right top corner of that window to create a "New Channel". This should be an alpha channel.
Open up your opacity map in Photoshop and copy past it into the alpha channel of your leaf albedo.
Save your map via Crytiff with an preset that supports albedos with alpha channel.
in CE set the alpha test of your leaf material to 50.
Cinnabear.. if I had a life saver to give you, i would. Cause thats what you are!! Thank you very much it worked!! Thanks a lot for helping out!!
All the tips of my leaves are cut off and i tried to tile them and its not working out. I went to look at my model in speedtree and all the leaves look normal on the tree. I thought maybe it was cutoff as well but it wasn't.

Re: Leaf Opacity

Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 6:44 am
by cinnabear
You're not supposed to tile them.