Page 1 of 2

FMOD Initialization Error

Posted: Fri Mar 09, 2018 6:21 pm
by DDyack
Hi there,

Just trying to do some sound tests with FMOD.

When I add s_AudioImplName = CryAudioImplFmod in the system.cfg file I get the following assert with a clean new project:

Condition: fmodResult == FMOD_OK [line 997] [File=D:/jk/gamesdk_release/Code/CryEngine/CryAudioSystem/implementations/CryAudioImplFmod/AudioImpl.cpp]

Sound does not work at all in the example level unless I remove this line. :(

Any thoughts?

Re: FMOD Initialization Error

Posted: Fri Mar 09, 2018 7:15 pm
by cry-thomas
Hi DDyack,

The line that you're talking about is this one correct?
https://github.com/CRYTEK/CRYENGINE/blo ... l.cpp#L997

This is inside the Cimpl::MuteMasterBus method which makes me wonder why it's being called.
Either way, please set the audio logging cvar in system.cfg as well and post the corresponding log file.
s_AudioLoggingOptions = abc

Also please clarify which engine build and Fmod version you're using.

Re: FMOD Initialization Error

Posted: Fri Mar 09, 2018 9:25 pm
by DDyack
Hi cry-thomas,

Thank you for the quick response!

Yes, this appears to be the correct line.

CryEngine Version 5.4.0 - Build 164
FMOD Studio Version 1.10.04, 64-bit, Build #93853

Where do I find the log file? is it the editor.log? (had to zip it add apparently)

Re: FMOD Initialization Error

Posted: Fri Mar 09, 2018 9:39 pm
by lavizh
I think you need to use FMOD Studio 1.09. Not 1.10.04. It depends on what FMOD SDK the engine is built for. I had to downgrade too. FMOD Studio 1.10 was released after 5.4 came out. I think the upcoming CRYENGINE 5.5 will have FMOD Studio 1.10 support.

s_AudioLoggingOptions = abc should show the exact version SDK number.

Re: FMOD Initialization Error

Posted: Fri Mar 09, 2018 10:52 pm
by DDyack
I reverted to 1.09 and this seemed to fix the problem. Thank you!

Re: FMOD Initialization Error

Posted: Sat Mar 10, 2018 3:41 pm
by DDyack
Scratch that - I am still getting the error intermittently. I am looking more into the problem. Sometimes it works, and sometimes the error pops up. I will try to post more information shortly.

Re: FMOD Initialization Error

Posted: Sat Mar 10, 2018 3:51 pm
by lavizh
Did you rebuild the soundbanks with 1.09?

Re: FMOD Initialization Error

Posted: Mon Mar 12, 2018 2:41 pm
by DDyack
Did you rebuild the soundbanks with 1.09?
That was the problem - thank you. This works - the error only came up when things were out of sync. All good now. Thank you!

Re: FMOD Initialization Error

Posted: Mon Mar 12, 2018 3:43 pm
by cry-thomas
CE 5.5 will support Fmod Studio 1.10.04

Re: FMOD Initialization Error

Posted: Mon Mar 12, 2018 3:43 pm
by DDyack
I also get this error when creating a new project and with FMOD setting in the system.cfg file but no sound banks created yet.