Page 2 of 2

Re: Problem with getting character from 3ds max to cryengine

Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2019 9:32 am
by Bender2
Thanks for your awesome work, you're really helping me :)
But there is another problem, unfortunately I have many animations that are attached to the old rigging, so they don't fit to the new skeleton which you made.
Here are some examples:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1QZbMgB ... 7Y30x/view

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1-3AWFU ... f5sZ1/view

Is there a way to adjust them to the new skeleton?

Sorry I'm not very familiar with this engine, but I want to learn it

Re: Problem with getting character from 3ds max to cryengine

Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2019 2:57 pm
by vishdrck
Hey
Unfortunately no way because I re-built the skeleton.But you can use old skeleton again with your mesh.If you noticed how I separated the mesh into few pieces try to do that and rig your skeleton.In my case if can move to maya it is easy.(Not necessary)
When you are making a .cdf file in character editor please note that if you can't see the added .skin file then please save the cdf file and close character tool and re-open it.You can see full character which you added the skin files.

Edit:
If you see a strange behaviour in character after creating cdf file then check if the shader option in character tool and change it into vertex shader(slow).Sometime it will be solved after changing it.

I have seen your animations and those are perfect.Loops are amazing.Good Luck! :)

Re: Problem with getting character from 3ds max to cryengine

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 6:31 pm
by Bender2
Thanks, yeah those animations cost me some effort! :)
But I have a question, how did you get those many .skin files?
When I import the FBX file to the character tool, it only generates one .skin file.
Did you export those .skin files (like head or left leg for example) with maya or were they generated automatically for you?
And yes, I own maya too, and have some experience with it.

Re: Problem with getting character from 3ds max to cryengine

Posted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 6:08 am
by vishdrck
Hey did you open the maya file which I sent you?Observe it.I make several meshes and binded it into bones.That's why I got the several .skin files.Watch my youtube videos for knowing how to rig the skeleton because you need special parameters for rigging.

Youtube channel:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCGCM22 ... bWu-9gYcKw

Maya has game exporter option and use it for exporting fbx file.

I didn't export any .skin file in maya..skin files are produced during importing process in the asset browser.

Cheers!

Re: Problem with getting character from 3ds max to cryengine

Posted: Sat Jan 12, 2019 11:13 pm
by Bender2
ey, sorry to bother you again.
I watched your tutorials and they are very helpful, but I have still a problem with the textures.
Either there are wrong textures
ganon wrong texture.png
ganon wrong texture.png (135.89 KiB) Viewed 855 times
or there are the right textures, but they look wishy-washy.
ganon wishywashy.png
ganon wishywashy.png (148.97 KiB) Viewed 855 times
I changed the shader settings in character tool, but that didn't work!
Thanks again for your help, I am learning a lot!

Re: Problem with getting character from 3ds max to cryengine

Posted: Sun Jan 13, 2019 4:38 pm
by vishdrck
Great.
Did you assign the materials for each skin files in character tool.Before assign please check the materials in material editor for shader settings.Default for characters is Illum shader.Then try to assign and check is it working and solve it..Let me know if solved.
Cheers!

Re: Problem with getting character from 3ds max to cryengine

Posted: Sun Jan 13, 2019 8:02 pm
by Bender2
Oh lol, I just had to re-open my project viewport and now everything looks great in the character tool and asset browser.
So, next step is getting this character further into the engine.
How did you put it in the viewport?

Re: Problem with getting character from 3ds max to cryengine

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 1:04 am
by vishdrck
Hey there,
If you only want to use the character as a animated object then you can use it as a mannequin object but those objects are placed in GAMESDK.So first you need to create a mannequin object for use the model.
If you want to make this character as the player then the best thing is observing game sdk source code.Then create own one for according to your model.
In this case I put the character into viewport using AICharacter option in GameSDK.

Re: Problem with getting character from 3ds max to cryengine

Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2019 10:47 am
by Cry-Flare
You can also setup your own Mannequin fragments and try out some basic controller code by following our latest Animation tutorials:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xP1NpW_iT_A
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kqZubpCYdAM

Re: Problem with getting character from 3ds max to cryengine

Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2019 3:40 pm
by vishdrck
You can also setup your own Mannequin fragments and try out some basic controller code by following our latest Animation tutorials:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xP1NpW_iT_A
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kqZubpCYdAM
It is documented very well and very good for getting start with cryengine.That videos give us good answers for many questions!!! Thanks cryteam for hard working...