Page 1 of 1

Supersampling

Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2017 4:38 pm
by vise19
Hello. Please tell me if the engine is any analogue of supersampling,
in addition to antialiasing and if so, how to configure it.

Re: Supersampling

Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2017 6:24 pm
by lavizh
r_Supersampling = 2 should work fine in the editor. At least the last time i checked.

Re: Supersampling

Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2017 6:46 pm
by vise19
The problem is that supersampling very strongly loads system, fps drops in half,
so I'm looking for alternative ways to improve the graphics.

Re: Supersampling

Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2017 6:56 pm
by lavizh
Well ofcourse it does. It's Super Sampling. Your other option is r_AntiAliasingMode = 3, which is SMAA t2x with Temporal AA. It's a pretty bad AA mode. CE lacks good AA modes, like SMAA 4x.

Re: Supersampling

Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2017 7:08 pm
by vise19
Yes. in previous versions was the MSAA mode, and now it was cut. And what is left, in addition to supersampling gives a terrible picture.

Re: Supersampling

Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2017 7:13 pm
by lavizh
MSAA had issues with the current renderer and was sadly removed. CE needs to cut out the ugly FXAA and focus on adding SMAA 4x. Problem is the guy who worked on AA in CE doesn't work at Crytek anymore :/

Re: Supersampling

Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2017 7:17 pm
by vise19
Sad. I love cryengine, but sometimes the problems that arise out of the blue turn. As you know, are there any plans to add a setting SMAA 4x

Re: Supersampling

Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2017 7:27 pm
by lavizh
Sad. I love cryengine, but sometimes the problems that arise out of the blue turn. As you know, are there any plans to add a setting SMAA 4x
I doubt it's a priority at all. Community programmers can perhaps do it if there is an interest.

Re: Supersampling

Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2017 7:31 pm
by vise19
Lavizh thanks